Article by Sydney Morning Herald

Western Force’s Matt Hodgson capped off a great season with the win. Photo: Getty Images

Western Force skipper Matt Hodgson capped off an outstanding Super Rugby season by winning the franchise’s Nathan Sharpe Medal.

Hodgson was the runaway winner of the best-and-fairest award, with his 343 votes easily eclipsing Ben McCalman (248), Sam Wykes (181), Dane Haylett-Petty (158) and Sias Ebersohn (144).

The Nathan Sharpe Medal is determined by each member of the match-day 23 voting for their peers on a 3, 2, 1 basis.

Winger Nick Cummins was unlucky to miss out on a top-five finish, but the man nicknamed the “Honey Badger” took out the Members’ MVP award.

Lock Adam Coleman was named the Rising Star, while McCalman and Wykes were joint winners of the Geoffrey Stooke Award, which recognises the efforts of players both on and off the field.

Hodgson was at his inspirational best throughout the season, with his immense tackling efforts and tireless work at the breakdown almost inspiring the Force to a maiden finals berth.

The 33-year-old’s hot form was rewarded with a call-up to the Wallabies’ squad for Australia’s 3-0 series win over France.

Hodgson has now won a club-record three Nathan Sharpe Medals, adding to his triumphs in 2009 and 2010.

The Force were on the verge of making the finals this year, but a loss to the Brumbies in the final round saw them finish eighth, just two points adrift of sixth spot.

Matt Hodgson is exclusively managed by The Fordham Company.

Contact Us

A: 13-15 Little Burton St, Darlinghurst NSW 2010
P: +61 2 9332 9111

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top